Nobel Literature Prize awarded to Kazuo Ishiguro

Kazuo Ishiguro honoured with Nobel Literature Prize

The Swedish Academy has honoured British novelist Kazuo Ishiguro with the prestigious literary award. Ishiguro’s best-known works include “The Remains of the Day” and “Never Let Me Go.”

Kazuo Ishiguro was revealed as the 2017 Nobel Prize in Literature on 5 October at a ceremony in Stockholm. In its announcement, the Swedish Academy praised the Japanese-born British writer. He said he is someone, “who, in novels of great emotional force, has uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world.”

After announcing Ishiguo as the 2017 literature laureate, the Academy’s Permanent Secretary Sara Danius described him as a “brilliant novelist”. He also called him a “deeply original author who has developed his own novel aesthetics.”

Upon learning that he had become the prestigious literary award’s 110th winner, Ishiguro said it was “flabbergastingly flattering.”

“It’s a magnificent honor,” the prize-winner said. “Mainly because it means that I’m in the footsteps of the greatest authors that have lived, so that’s a terrific commendation.” Nobel Literature laureates are considered to be the world’s most influential authors.

“I’ll be deeply moved if I could in some way be part of some sort of climate this year in contributing to some sort of positive atmosphere at a very uncertain time,” Ishiguro added.

His publisher Faber & Faber also celebrated the win on Twitter.

TNT Literature

Photo Credit: Newsy

Related News